Artemis… foul?

March 14, 2008 at 1:06 am (Book reviews) (, , , )

I recently became part of our local library’s home school book club. It was actually just started, so we have a long way to go. I think that I’ll do a review on here of every book that we read. We’ll see.

The book that was chosen for this month was one with which I was unfamiliar: Artemis Fowl by Eoin Colfer. I would rate the book 0. It was not worth anyone’s time, and I’ll state my reasons below. [Note: I did not read the whole book due to what the librarians call, “Moral objections”]

Reason #1: Artemis Fowl, the main character, is a criminal.

   Why this is wrong: Ephesians 5:11 ~And have no fellowship with the unfruitful works of darkness, but rather reprove them.

Reason #2: The witch

   Why this is wrong: Leviticus 19:13 ~Regard not them that have familiar spirits, neither seek after wizards, to be defiled by them: I am the Lord your God.

Reason #3: Evolution

   Why this is wrong: Genesis 1 or John 1:1 ~All things were made by Him and without Him was not anything made that was made.

Reason #4: Swearing

   Why this is wrong: Ephesians 4:29 ~Let no corrupt communication proceed out of your mouth, but that which is good to the use of edifying, that it may minister grace unto the hearers.

Summing it all up: Philippians 4:8 ~Finally, brethren, whatsoever things are true, whatsoever things are honest, whatsoever things are just, whatsoever things are pure, whatsoever things are lovely, whatsoever things are of good report;… think on these things.

I realize that these references are by no means the only ones that would apply to these problems, but they were the first ones that came to my mind. I also did not address all of the problems that I discovered. There was drunkenness, lying/deceit, crude humor, and some environmentalist ideas that were getting frustrating. All of this in less than half of the book! I’m actually ashamed that I stayed with it so long, but now I know better. Thankfully our selection for this month is Dr. Dolittle. 😀

[Another quick note: I’ve been asked why I read the Chronicles of Narnia if I won’t have anything to do with Harry Potter or other such things. The reason is that there is a major distinction between the good and the bad, and the bad loses. In books such as Artemis Fowl, there is no good side. Also, the Chronicles of Narnia are allegories, and I am constantly reminded of Christ by reading them. No such thing with Artemis or Harry. Is that a good explanation?]

7 Comments

  1. Anonymous person said,

    Hullo, this is anonymous person! I love reading too and try to serve the Lord. I didn’t like Artemis Fowl either, I just couldn’t imagine the pictures or scenes in my head. The book was also weird with the “L.E.P.” recon.

  2. Lady Carmen said,

    [Yes, that is a great explanation. The ideas of virtue in the J.K. Rowling series are pretty fuzzy; Harry is constantly succeeding through disobedience and deceit.]

    I like your blog! 🙂

    Blessing,
    Carmen

  3. Lady Carmen said,

    Thank you for your comment as well!
    Sorry, I’m not sure where else to post this, but may I add you to my blogroll? I’m sure my readers would love to check this out.

  4. Lady Carmen said,

    Yes, you certainly may!

    Thank you!

  5. anonymous said,

    What do you think about ” The Lord of the Rings” series, as well as “The Hobbit?” Have you ever read those?

  6. anonymous said,

    I read Artemis Fowls books and I found nothing wrong with them. Me personally, I dont like Harry Potter. I think they’re stupid and a waste of time, but you can please the LORD and still read fantasy books. I do and I love Jesus very much and am a born-again Christian.

  7. anonymous said,

    I’m sorry if I offended anyone, but we all think differently and have different opinions.

Leave a Reply

